Today in Light Australis Photo

The story behind the image

Gatehouse

Princes Pier, Port Melbourne, built between 1912 & 1915, was originally known as 'New Railway Pier', it was renamed Princes Pier in 1921 in honour of the royal visit by the Prince of Wales. The pier’s iconic two-level timber Gatehouse was added in 1935 to enable better monitoring of cargo and traffic on to and off of the pier.

Gatehouse (2015)

Click the image for a larger view.